About WRRB

The WRRB is responsible for managing wildlife and wildlife habitat (forests, plants and protected areas) in the area known as Wek’èezhìı. The WRRB is an institution of public government and must act in the public interest.

Wek’èezhìı (see map) is an area larger than the land owned by the Tłı̨chǫ. This land shares boundaries with the Sahtu Settlement Area and Nunavut, and includes the four Tłı̨chǫ communities of Gamètì, Wekweètì, Whatì and Behchokǫ̀.

The membership of the WRRB is shared equally by the Tłı̨chǫ Government (50 per cent of members) and by the Government of Canada and the Government of the Northwest Territories (50 per cent of members).